Foster County Independent - The Official Newspaper for Foster County

CHS Honors Night held April 26


May 2, 2022

There was a full house at CHS Honors Night on Tuesday, April 26. High school students involved in a variety of academic pursuits were recognized for their dedication.

Here are some of the highlights of the annual event, noting those who received special awards while recognizing the efforts of students involved in co-curricular activities that haven't previously been highlighted in this newspaper throughout the school year.

Hunter Beumer, Brecken Lura, Jacob Rexin, Dawsyn Anderson, Jacob Page, Lucas Hendrickson, Emma Rindy and Tate Larsen earned the Presidential Award of Educational Excellence. The award is given to seniors who scored at least a 25 on their ACT and earned a 3.5 GPA or higher in coursework throughout high school.

Director Kristina Schuh honored six senior band and choir members with special awards. In band, the Senior Award went to Isabella Garr, Excellence in Music to Nicole Lee, and the Director's Award to Joe Lindberg. In choir, Emma Stans, Kaylee Barone and Logan Marlow were the winners of the Senior Award, Excellence in Music and Director's Awards, respectively.

Know Your State advisor Matthew Hone reported that seven students qualified for the state competition, which was held at Bismarck State College on April 25. Jacob Rexin finished third overall in the state event, and received a $500 cash prize. Others who qualified are pictured here: Nicole Lee, McCoy Beckley, Max Beumer, Jacob Page, Jacob Rexin, Mollie Lindberg and Emma Hone.

The Science Olympiad program had a strong showing at competition this year. Patrick Boehmer and Carrie Nichols, the senior and junior advisors, reported that both teams ranked in the top five at state and were the top overall Class B teams in both the regional and state events. The junior high team finished third overall at state, while the senior high team finished fifth.

Rori Ricter was recognized as the Most Improved Speaker, and Kaley Kostelnik received the Hardest Worker and Most Valuable Speaker awards from speech advisor Kristen Hewitt.

Laurie Dietz, President of the Kiwanis Club, recognized three senior students with awards and scholarships. Emma Stans received the Art award, Taylor Braaten for band and Isabella Garr for choir.

Dietz also recognized Tate Larsen with the Carrington Area Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, which is given to a senior who has worked at a member business during high school.

Three CHS seniors/alumni received the Dr. Michael W. Emmerich scholarship, now in its sixth year: seniors Grace Rindy and Emma Wolsky and college freshman Trapper Depew.

The Art Widiger Memorial Scholarship was presented to Lucas Hendrickson, Jacob Rexin and Lauren Skadberg.

The Carrington Lions Club gave out two scholarship awards. Lauren Skadberg was the recipient of the Pat Roundy Memorial Scholarship, and Emma Wolsky earned the Al Larson Memorial Scholarship.

Noah Paulson and Isabella Garr received scholarships from Bank Forward/Insure Forward.

Foster County Farm Bureau scholarship winners were Brecken Lura, Lauren Skadberg and Alexis Wells.

Katie Jo Gussiaas Memorial Scholarships were presented to Dawsyn Anderson, Isabella Garr, Lucas Hendrickson, Jacob Rexin, Emma Rindy and Lauren Skadberg and Emma Wolsky. The same seven seniors also received the Delores Neuman Award.

There were three CHS seniors among the recipients of Dakota Central scholarships: Isabella Garr, Jacob Rexin and Tate Larsen.

Twenty-eight seniors received a total of $10,250* in scholarships from the Dollars for Scholars program: Dawsyn Anderson, Levis Auka, Hunter Beumer, Taylor Braaten, Cayler Ellingson, Isabella Garr, Sydnie Grager, Alleigha Guthmiller, Lucas Hendrickson, Kaulder Kvamme, Tate Larsen, Mollie Lindberg, Brecken Lura, Jacob Page, Noah Paulson, Jacob Rexin, Rori Ricter, Grace Rindy, Emma Rindy, Travis Scanson, Avery Schaefer, Drew Schroeder, Cole Seaburg, Jacob Seaburg, Lauren Skadberg, Emma Stans, Alexis Wells and Emma Wolsky. The Foster County Independent is proud to be among the donors for this great program.

*Editor's Note: There was an error in the print edition of this story. The Dollars for Scholars program handed out $10,250 in scholarships at CHS Honors Night, as published above. The organization also received a $2,000 grant from the Carrington Community Foundation after Honors Night, for a total of $12,250. A correction will be published in the May 9, 2022 print edition as well. We apologize for the error.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021