Foster County Independent - The Official Newspaper for Foster County

Dakota Datebook: HR Bill No. 2593 in N.D.


February 7, 2022

Dakota Datebook written by Christina Campbell.

In 1861, Dakota Territory included portions of present-day Montana, Idaho and Wyoming. As each region became separate territories, it appeared that the borders of the three future states failed to join, leaving a triangular section between Montana, Wyoming and Idaho that still belonged to the Territory of Dakota.

Land office maps from the 1860’s...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

New Rockford 260x100
Foster County News 260x100
Turtle Mountain Guide
Lake Region Guide

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022