Foster County Independent - The Official Newspaper for Foster County

Pitcrew wrestles at state tourney


April 4, 2022

Girls' wrestlers who competed at the State Folkstyle and Freestyle Wrestling Tournaments included, L-R: Alayna Gussiaas, Linda Yuja, Taya Lura and Rynna Jorgensen. Lura placed third in the Cadet (16U) Freestyle division, while Jorgensen was fourth in 8U Folkstyle. (Courtesy photo)

The Carrington Pitcrew youth wrestling program competed in the North Dakota State Folkstyle Tournament at the Bismarck Event Center March 25-26.

The Pitcrew competed in both the individual tournament brackets, as well as the team dual competition with two different squads.

Group 1, with mostly older kids (kindergarten to sixth grade), went 1-2, taking a 70-0 loss to the Bison Wrestling Club of Fargo. They would win a 33-33 tiebreaker on criteria over the Grand Forks Gladiators, and fell to the Valley City Express, 41-33.

Group 3 consisted mostly of the younger wrestlers from kindergarten to third grade. They defeated the Express, 33-21, and took a 30-30 loss on criteria to MatPac White (Bismarck). The threes defeated Napoleon, 36-24, won a 30-30 match with Stanley on criteria, and lost by a score of 34-21 to the Bison Wrestling Club.

As a group, the Pitcrew brought 38 wrestlers, both boys and girls, to the state tournament, with seven competing the first night and 31 on the second.

Participants in each age group, along with placers in their weight divisions, are as follows:

• 6U (six and under): Duke Sauby (third), Henry Veen, Jaxon Richter

• 8U: Rynna Jorgensen (fourth), Smith Mozelle (fourth), Parker Wilson (fourth), Kayden Boyer, Brantley Gussiaas, Caysen Krause, Charles Sauby, Wyatt Stickel

Boys in the 6U division, pictured here, were Henry Veen, Jaxon Richter and Duke Sauby. Sauby placed third. (Courtesy photo)

• 10U: Landin Clifton (second), Gannon Inglish (second), Briggs Garber (fourth), Mason Cook (fifth), Eli Kallikoski, Kullen Kovar, Jase Rude, Braylon Sauvageau, Tristin Schroeder, Chayse Steadmon, Michael VandeHoven

• 12U: William Jorgensen (fourth), Kallen Wolsky (fifth), Alayna Gussiaas, Gabe Inglish, Jameson Kallikoski, Ridge Kramlich, Isaiah Oatis, Layton Sauvageau, Krew Wolsky, Linda Yuja

• 14U: Nic Garber (second), Skye Kramlich (third), Charles Jorgensen (fifth), Gabriel Clifton (sixth)

• 16U: Taya Lura (third, freestyle)

The team also participated in a dual tournament at Hazelton-Moffit-Braddock School on March 24. They split their matches there, with wins of 38-33 and 70-0 over Napoleon and Herreid, S.D., and defeats to South Border (39-28) and Linton-HMB (37-36).

Congratulations to all wrestlers on a great weekend!


Our Family of Publications Includes:

New Rockford 260x100
Foster County News 260x100
Turtle Mountain Guide
Lake Region Guide

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 03/11/2023 23:18